Quality Concrete 100 Season Opener, May 21/16
Jesse Thompson
Under beautiful skies Saturday, Petty International Raceway finally kicked off the 2016 racing season with 4 divisions in action including the Leisure Days RV Bandoleros, Mister Transmission Mini Stocks, Extreme Windows & Entrance Systems Street Stocks, and Late Model Sportsman division.

Quality Concrete 100 qualifying kicked off the afternoon with 48 Dave O' Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB) and 88 Luc Bourgeois (Memramcook, NB), both former track champions, taking victories. Eventual feature winner 14 Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown, NB) found himself caught up in a wreck in his heat, a wreck he was able to recover from later in the day.

Bandolero action was up next for two 10 lap heat races. 68 Michael Cormier (Shediac, NB) and 44 Nathan Blackburn (Timberlea, NS) both got their seasons going the right way and will look to carry momentum through 2016. The Mister Transmission Mini Stocks returned for 2016 with 60 Mike Weagle and 81 JR Lawson (Shubenacadie, NS) taking heat wins. 42 Mike Duskey swept the afternoon with a heat and feature win in the Extreme Windows & Entrance Systems Street Stocks.

Feature action kicked off later for the Leisure Days RV Bandoleros with Cormier holding off hard charges from a full field of Nova Scotia regulars. Blackburn was the runner up with 12 Sam Rogers (Upper Onslow, NS) making a late charge to round off the podium. 18 Josh Langille (Coldbrook, NS) and 27 Austin Macdonald (Pictou, NS) rounded out the top 5.

The Mister Transmission Mini Stocks were up next for 25 laps. It looked as though Weagle and Lawson were going to finish 1-2 in the end, but following contact with lapped traffic, the pair got together in three and four, effectively ending their days. 86 Tim Webster (Beaverbank, NS) sat patiently for most of the race and was able to capitalize on the late action to take the victory. Sydney, NS's 88 Kody Quinn, who was running three races at three tracks this weekend, ended up in the runner up spot while 58 Logan Power (Riverview, NB) rebounded from an ill-handling car for 3rd. 30 Chantel Ackles (Spryfield, NS) and 0 Rob Poirier (Moncton, NB) rounded out the top 5.

The Extreme Windows & Entrance Systems Street Stocks were up next. A low car count didn't stop the action from heating up over the course of 30 laps. It seemed as if late arrival 02 Craig Ward (Riverview, NB) and 48 Courtney O'Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB) were going to finish 1-2, but both suffered the same fate as Weagle and Lawson in the feature prior. This led the way for Duskey to hold on to take the victory over 89 Mike Edwards (Moncton, NB) and Ward who rebounded for the final podium position. 92 Shawn Lewis (Salisbury, NB) and 87 Nick Cudmore (Salisbury, NB) rounded out the top 5.

The final feature was the Quality Concrete 100 for the Late Model Sportsman division. 14 cars took the green flag. Bourgeois took the early lead with 53 Laurie Cormier (Riverview, NB) posing a challenge for ¾ of the event. Cormier then dealt with overheating problems which were solved, but ultimately nothing compared to the contact with the backstretch wall late in the race. Eventual winner Andrew Rodgers picked off cars one by one and got a lucky break with a late caution and was able to challenge Bourgeois on the high side. Contact ensued multiple times late in the race with Rodgers ultimately taking the win in a photo finish. Former International winner and track champion Dave O' Blenis finished 3rd with 85 Kenny Mackenzie Jr (Salisbury, NB) and 42 Matt Rodgers (Smithtown, NB) rounding out the top 5.

The next event takes place on Saturday June 4 with the Trent Blakney Towing and Excavating 100 for the Late Model Sportsman division. Bandoleros, Mini Stocks and Street Stocks return with the first of 3 visits for the Women On Wheels division. Start time for this event is 6PM.
Mister Transmission Mini Stock
25 Laps

1.  86 Tim Webster
2.  88 Kody Quinn
3.  58 Logan Power
4.  30 Chantel Ackles
5.  0 Rob Poirier
6.  47 Dustin Phillips
7.  53 Mikey Larkin
8.  60 Mike Weagle
9.  72 Rob Boutilier
10.  55 Tony Belliveau
11.  81 JR Lawson
12.  10 Patricia Taylor

Heat Winners - Mike Weagle, JR Lawson
Leisure Days RV Centre Bandolero
20 Laps

1.  68 Michael Cormier
2.  44 Nathan Blackburn
3.  12 Sam Rogers
4.  18 Josh Langille
5.  27 Austin MacDonald
6.  13 Max Alward
7.  3 Nathan Langille
8.  11 Koven Lewis
9.  87 Danny Chisholm
10.  88 Greg Butler
11.  0 Tanton Wooldridge
12.  17 Dylan Dowe

Heat Winners - Michael Cormier, Nathan Blackburn
Extreme Window and Entrance System Street Stocks 
30 Laps

1.  42 Mike Duskey
2.  89 Mike Edwards
3.  02 Craig Ward
4.  92 Shawn Lewis
5.  87 Nick Cudmore
6.  48 Courtney O’Blenis
7.  2 Cliff Mercer
8.  6 Tim Layton

Heat Winner - Mike Duskey
Sportsman Feature
100 laps

1.  14 Andrew Rodgers
2.  88 Luc Bourgeois
3.  48 Dave O’Blenis
4.  85 Ken MacKenzie Jr
5.  42 Matt Rodgers
6.  29 Matt Maillet
7.  74 Alexandra O’Blenis
8.  99 Phil Barkhouse Jr
9.  92 Neal Crawford
10.  53 Laurie Cormier
11.  19 Dawson McIntee
12.  61 Chris Cormier
13.  3 Bert Cormier
14.  10 Richard Salter

Heat Winners - Dave O’Blenis, Luc Bourgeois
Photography by: Tanya Everett Photography
Event Gallery