Maritime Pro Stock Tour Petty 100, June 25/16
Jesse Thompson
Race fans from all over braved the heat and converged at the high banks of Petty International Raceway Saturday for the Petty 100 presented by Parts For Trucks.

A full field of 22 Pro Stock competitors rolled through the gates and ended the evening with a thrill 100 lap war.

Heat races kicked off the event for the Leisure Days RV Bandoleros. Pictou NS’s Austin MacDonald brought his King Freight Lines #27 to Victory Lane along with Timberlea’s Nathan Blackburn getting the 2nd heat win in his McFetridge Piping Systems #44.

The Mister Transmission Mini Stocks were out next with Mike Weagle taking the first of the qualifiers, and Beaverbank NS’s Tim Webster continuing his dominance of the division with a win in the second.

The Extreme Windows & Entrance Systems Street Stocks rolled onto the track for their only heat. Albany PEI’s Mike Duskey held on for the 10 lap heat win.

15 lap qualifiers for the Parts For Trucks Pro Stock Tour were next with 2014 Mike Stevens Memorial Winner Shawn Turple continuing his quick pace from practice to win the first heat and grab the pole for the evening’s 100 lapper. Defending series champion Donald Chisholm paced the field and managed to snag the outside front row spot with a heat win. Cassius Clark methodically worked his way up through the field to capture the final heat win.

Leisure Days RV Bandoleros were back on track for a 20 lap feature. 14 cars took the green flag with Austin MacDonald sweeping the evening and proving he is a force to be reckoned with. The remainder of the top 5 swapped spots multiple times with Braden Langile (Subbing for Josh Langille) taking 3rd and Michael Cormier ending up on the podium again with a runner-up spot.

14 cars took the green flag for the 25 lap Mister Transmission Mini Stock Feature. Tim Webster, much like Austin MacDonald previously, stayed out front and was unchallenged and came away with the victor. JR Lawson of Shubenacadie, NS and 2nd generation driver Logan Power rounded out the podium in the Riverview Muffler #58.

The Extreme Windows & Entrance Systems Street Stocks returned for a 30 lapper. Craig Ward wrestled the lead away early and captured his 2nd win of the year along with his 3rd podium. Nick Cudmore with his ‘64 Chevy II finished runner up to the “Thrill Maker” with Mike Duskey bringing home 3rd after a battle with Shawn Lewis’s 92.

Then the Pro Stocks took to the track with for the Petty 100 presented by Parts For Trucks. Early on, it looked to be Shawn Turple’s race to lose until contact with rookie Harry Ross White in T1 brought his progress to a halt. He was unable to recover and retired prior to the checkered flag. Defending International winner Craig Slaunwhite took command of the lead and looked to be on his way to another victory on the high banks. Brake issues caused problems going into T1, along with contact from the wall. Slaunwhite worked his way back up through the field before finishing 8th.

Then came Dylan Blenkhorn.

The Truro driver stayed consistent throughout the feature and took hold of the opportunity to lead. Blenkhorn would survive numerous cautions in the final 13 laps and challenges from Cassius Clark, Jonathan Hicken and Cole Butcher to win his 2nd race of the season.
Butcher held on for 2nd through a wild restart with 4 to go. Cassius Clark held on for 3rd after staying within the top 5 for the duration of the event. Jarrett Butcher was the top rookie of the race, consistently staying within the top 10.

The next event for Petty International Raceway is on Saturday July 9 with the DR Scrap Metals / Metalcore Night Of Destruction. Late Model Sportsman cars will return for a 100 lap feature along with the Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, Bandoleros, Women on Wheels division, Atlantic Modified Tour and a Demo Derby to cap off the evening. For more information, visit the schedule page at
Mister Transmission Mini Stock
25 Laps

1. 86 Tim Webster
2. 81 JR Lawson
3. 58 Logan Power
4. 08 Martin Landry
5. 30 Chantel Ackles
6. 0 Rob Poirier
7. 10 Patricia Taylor
8. 60 Mike Weagle
9. 53 Mike Larkin
10. 55 Tony Belliveau
11. 72 Rob Boutilier
12. 63 Chris  Garnett
13. 98 Steve Matthews
14. 00 Michael Savoie

Heat Winners - Mike Weagle, Tim Webster
Leisure Days RV Centre Bandolero
20 Laps

1. 27 Austin MacDonald
2. 68 Michael Cormier
3. 18 Braden Langille
4. 12 Sam Rogers
5. 44 Nathan Blackburn
6. 13 Max Alward
7. 87 Danny Chisholm
8. 17 Dylan Dowe
9. 66 Owen Mahar
10. 88 Greg Butler
11. 0 Tanton Woolridge
12. 11 Koven Lewis
13. 48 Malcolm Jollimore
14. 3 Nathan Langille

Heat Winners - Austin MacDonald, Nathan Blackburn
Extreme Window and Entrance System Street Stocks 
30 Laps

1.  02 Craig Ward
2.  87 Nick Cudmore
3.  42 Mike Duskey
4.  92 Shawn Lewis
5.  6 Tim Layton
6.  2 Clifford Mercer
7.  97 Shawn Furlong

Heat Winner - Mike Duskey
Parts for Trucks Maritime Pro Stock Tour
Petty 100

1. 67 Dylan Blenkhorn
2. 53 Cole Butcher
3. 13 Cassius Clark
4. 5 Jonathan Hicken
5. 18 Darren MacKinnon
6. 89 Donald Chisholm
7. 91 Dylan Gosbee
8. 99 Craig Slaunwhite
9. 54 Jarrett Butcher
10. 81 Nevin Scott
11. 32 Sarah McKay
12. 97 DJ Casey
13. 8 Kent Vincent
14. 49 Harry Ross White
15. 72 Mike Kyle
16. 14 Terry Dougay
17. 08 Nicholas Naugle
18. 21 Shawn Pierce
19. 0 Shawn Turple
20. 29 Greg Proude
21. 42 Matt Rodgers
22. 7 Byron Bartlett

Heat Winners - Shawn Turple, Donald Chisholm, Cassius Clark