MetalCore & D.R. Metals Night of Destruction, July 9/16
Jesse Thompson
Mother Nature attempted to disrupt the events Saturday on the high banks of Petty International Raceway, but she couldn't do it and an almost full house was treated to six incredible features and a wild demolition derby.

DR Scrap Metals and Metalcore presented the nights events which saw racing from the Leisure Days RV Bandoleros, the Mr Transmission Mini Stocks, The Extreme Windows & Entrance Systems Street Stocks, the Late Model Sportsmans, the Atlantic Modified Tour and the Women On Wheels division.

Making a rare return to the Leisure Days RV Bandoleros, it was Shubenacadie's Braden Langille in the Velocity Machining & Welding #51 returning to victory lane. Michael Cormier challenged late, but settled for 2nd with Sam Rogers making a pass in the later stages to bring the Ice Man #12 to 3rd to round out the podium. Nathan Blackburn and Austin MacDonald rounded out the top 5. MacDonald and Langille picked up heat wins.

In the Mr Transmission Mini Stocks, a streak came to an end. While Tim Webster continued his strong runs with a 4th place finish, it was Rob Poirier holding off 2nd generation driver Logan Power to win his first feature of the season. JR Lawson held on for 3rd with Cody Byrne making the trip from PEI count with a top 5. Poirier and Lawson kicked off the evening with heat wins.

In the Extreme Windows & Entrance Systems Street Stocks, “The Thrill Maker” Craig Ward brought his Sherwin-Williams #02 back to victory lane, a place very familiar in 2016 to the Riverview driver. Mike Duskey continued his great season in the Island Coastal #42 with a runner up finish. Nick Cudmore also continued a series of great runs with a 3rd. Tim Layton and Shawn Lewis put on another thrilling battle in the late stages to round out the top 5. Ward, like the drivers in the two divisions above, picked up the lone heat win for the Street Stocks.

In the Late Model Sportsman feature, it was Luc Bourgeois rebounding from odd circumstances during pace laps to finally crack through to victory lane in dominating fashion. Bourgeois started on the outside of the front row and out-paced the field without challenge to win the DR Scrap Metals / Metalcore 100. Two-time Riverglade International winner Laurie Cormier brought the #53 home 2nd with Alexandra O'Blenis bringing a former Brent Roy championship car home 3rd. Opening day winner Andrew Rodgers came from the rear multiple times to finish 4th and Kenny MacKenzie Jr closed out the top 5.

In the Women On Wheels division, Brenda Shortell and Ashley Campbell swapped spots from their last feature with Shortell getting the upper hand on Campbell. Janet McFetridge, much like Sherry MacKenzie, made sure the Gord's Auto Body #85 was back on the podium. Rhonda Chambers made her first time out count with a 4th place run. Tina Awalt rounded out the top 5 in her first run out.

The Atlantic Modified Tour returned with the 48 of Kevin Bailey finally getting the monkey off his back and securing his first feature win. 2011 series champion 17 Joe Hoyt settled for second, and 4-time series champion Mike Raeburn came home 3rd in the Reach For The Stars Preschool #98.

Along with our stock car events, DR Scrap Metals and Metalcore also presented our demolition events. Raymond Shortell and Kenny MacKenzie Jr picked up wins in the preliminary barrel and back-up races.

Following the Late Model Sportsman feature, cars rolled out onto the speedway and wasted no time trying to be the last car standing. Sparks flew, tires blew and metal bent under the extreme hits these drivers were dishing out. But after all was said and done, Jeff Davidson made his long trip from Inverness, NS count by being the last car left. Davidson, a seasoned demo veteran, was excited to get the win!

The next event on July 23 is the return of the Parts For Trucks Pro Stock Tour along with Street Stocks, Mini Stocks and Bandoleros, 6pm start time.
Mister Transmission Mini Stock
25 Laps

1.  0 Rob Poirier
2.  58 Logan Power
3.  81 JR Lawson
4.  86 Tim Webster
5.  18 Cody Byrne
6.  53 Mike Larkin
7.  10 Patricia Taylor
8.  30 Chantel Ackles
9.  72 Rob Boutilier
10.  5 Scott Habkirk
11.  63 Chris Garnet
12.  130 Tom Ackles
13.  13 Harley Cornish
14.  60 Mike Weagle
15.  55 Tony Belliveau

Heat Winners - JR Lawson, Rob Poirier
Leisure Days RV Centre Bandolero
20 Laps

1.  51 Braden Langille
2.  68 Michael Cormier
3.  12 Sam Rogers
4.  44 Nathan Blackburn
5.  27 Austin MacDonald
6.  18 Josh Langille
7.  11 Koven Lewis
8.  13 Max Alward
9.  17 Dylan Dowe
10. 66 Owen Mahar
11.  87 Danny Chisholm
12.  88 Greg Butler
13.  0 Tanton Wooldridge
14.  71 Chase MacKay
15.  3 Nathan Langille

Heat Winners - Austin MacDonald, Braden Langille
Extreme Window and Entrance System Street Stocks 
30 Laps

1.  02 Craig Ward
2.  42 Mike Duskey
3.  87 Nick Cudmore
4.  6 Tim Layton
5.  92 Shawn Lewis
6.  6x Mark MacLean
7.  2 Cliff Mercer
8.  9 Jeff Sanderson

Heat Winner - Craig Ward
Sportsman MetalCore D.R. Metals 100

1.  88 Luc Bourgeois
2.  53 Laurie Cormier
3.  74 Alexandra O'Blenis
4.  14 Andrew Rodgers
5.  85 Ken MacKenzie Jr
6.  29 Matt Maillet
7.  92 Neal Crawford
8.  19 Dawson McIntee
9.  3 Bert Cormier
10.  77 Colby Smith
11.  10 Richard Salter
12.  24 Marc Williams

Heat Winners - Colby Smith, Luc Bourgeois
Women on Wheels
15 Laps

1.  44 Brenda Shortell
2.  2 Ashley Campbell
3.  85 Janet McFetridge
4.  14 Rhonda Chambers
5.  33 Tina Awalt
6.  76 Ellen Smith
7.  35 Roxanne Jeffery
8.  41 Kaila Smith
9.  88 Paula Evans

Heat Winner - Brenda Shortell
Atlantic Modified Tour 
30 Laps

1. 48 Kevin Bailey
2. 17 Joe Hoyt
3. 98 Mike Raeburn
4. 71 Mervyn Lemon
5. 1 Justin Beers
6. 75 Doug Matchett

Heat Winner - Kevin Bailey
MetalCore & D.R. Metals
Night of Destruction Derby Events
Backwards Race

85 Ken Mackenzie Jr.
Barrel Race

33 Raymond Shortell
Demolition Derby

29 Jeff Davidson
Photo gallery by Ken MacIsaac Photography